## Mar-15-07 Governor Corzine Signs Comptroller Bill

FOR MORE INFORMATION: Anthony Coley Brendan Gilfillan 609-777-2600

## GOVERNOR CORZINE SIGNS COMPTROLLER BILL

**TRENTON** – Governor Jon S. Corzine today signed legislation establishing an independent Office of the Comptroller and consolidating financial audit and performance reviews of state and local government units in that office.

"This represents a vital step in our efforts to bring more accountability and transparency to the operations of state government," Governor Corzine said. "The comptroller will help ensure that people's tax dollars are spent properly and efficiently and will help reassure New Jerseyans that their government is acting only in the public interest."

"An independent comptroller will be a formidable check against corruption, favoritism, and fraud," said Assembly Majority Leader Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-Mercer), who sponsored the legislation in the Assembly.

"At a time when every taxpayer dollar must be safeguarded, a comptroller becomes an invaluable check against wasteful spending," said Assemblyman John J. Burzichelli (D-Gloucester), another Assembly sponsor.

Senate Majority Leader Bernard F. Kenny Jr. (D-Hudson), Senate sponsor of the comptroller measure, said it will enhance accountability at state, local and county levels of government as well as at the agencies and commissions.

"Now, we'll have professionals watching out for spending abuses at every level of government," said Senator Kenny.

The bill (A-2/S-15) was also sponsored in the Assembly by Assemblymembers Lou Greenwald (D-Camden), Linda Greenstein (D-Mercer, Middlesex), William Payne (D-Essex, Union), Reed Gusciora (D-Mercer) and Upendra Chivukula (D-Middlesex, Somerset).

The Governor also signed the following bills today:

**S-14/A-20** (Adler, Karcher, Codey/Panter, Pou, Giblin, O'Toole, Van Drew, Greenstein) – Provides for mandatory forfeiture of retirement benefits and mandatory imprisonment for public officers or employees convicted of certain crimes.

**S-506/A-3266** (Gill/Caraballo, Giblin) – Establishes responsibilities for owner/operators working for licensed public movers.

**S-722/A-1665** (Inverso/Barnes) – Prohibits deceptive use of depository institution's trade name or trademark.

**A-5/S-4** (Conaway, Stack, Watson Coleman, Cruz-Perez, Gordon, Greenwald, Lampitt, Burzichelli, Johnson, Vainieri Huttle/Adler, Doria) – Provides for various school district accountability measures.

**A-15/S-12** (Wisniewski, Gordon, Malone, Schaer, Lampitt, Mayer, Greenwald, Cruz-Perez, Watson Coleman, Burzichelli, Greenstein, Vas/B.Smith, Sweeney) – Establishes "Local Unit Alignment, Reorganization, and Consolidation Commission"; establishes measures for local government efficiency; appropriates \$95,000.

**A-470/S-1263** (Green, Burzichelli, Vas, Manzo/Turner, Rice) – Establishes Joint Committee on Housing Affordability.